Data Breach Class Actions | Webinar | May 19, 2020


Webinar:
May 19, 2020
2pm ET
75 mins.
CLE: 1+
Complimentary with registration.
Get:
+CLE
+Materials
+Recording
+Answers!
Email us your:
Speaker questions
CLE questions
Speakers:

Kate M. Baxter-Kauf
Partner
Lockridge Grindal
Nauen PLLP 

David M. Kaufman
Senior Director
Heffler Claims Group LLC
 

Michelle Visser
Partner
Orrick Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP
 



Data Breach Class Actions 
Practical Perspectives on Motions, Discovery, Certification, and Settlements 

Tuesday, May 19, 2020 | 2pm ET | 1pm CT | 12pm MT | 11am PT 

They used to inspire blaring headlines, panicked phone calls, and rampant fear. Would our most private information be sold to criminals and terrorists on the Dark Web?

While data breaches continue to cause real harm to organizations and individuals, from disruption to damaged reputations to financial losses, they have also become commonplace. No one is immune. Hospitals, retailers, hotels, email providers, e-commerce companies, credit score companies, entertainment companies, energy producers, manufacturers, universities, government agencies, and web meeting platforms made suddenly wildly popular in the age of social distancing. All have been hit. 

And with the proliferation of breaches has come litigation, often in the form of proposed class actions. The pace of new cases is certain – as filings have already shown – to get a boost now that California’s new consumer privacy law came online on Jan. 1, 2020.   

Attorneys, corporations, and government agencies involved in a variety of sectors are invited to join three experienced legal professionals for practical takeaways and insights into the unique characteristics of litigating data breach class actions: Kate M. Baxter-Kauf, Partner, Lockridge Grindal Nauen PLLP; David M. Kaufman, Senior Director, Heffler Claims Group LLC, and Michelle Visser, Partner, Orrick Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP 

They will address:   

  • Motions to dismiss:  role of injury (or lack thereof) in early dismissal challenges  
  • Discovery:  unique privilege challenges in data breach cases  
  • Discovery: discovery of absent class members in consumer cases 
  • Class certification: emerging trends from the small sub-set of cases that reach this stage 
  • Trends and current events that can affect your settlement: injunctive relief trends, objectors, and administration challenges
  • Plus, your questions via live chat.